Book Awards for Children's Literature

Find out about some of the children’s books that are currently winning awards and getting prizes across the world. The web sites below will give you some information. Click to find out more:

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. It was established by in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919). Carnegie was a self-made industrialist who made his fortune in steel in the USA. His experience of using a library as a child led him to resolve that "if ever wealth came to me that it should be used to establish free libraries." 

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955, for distinguished illustration in a book for children. It is named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her fine children's illustrations and designs. It is awarded annually for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children's books. Every other year IBBY presents the Andersen Award to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature.

The Caldecott Medal Award was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

The Newbury Medal Award was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children

The Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) is a not for profit, volunteer run organisation which aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians. The CBCA presents annual awards to books of literary merit, for outstanding contribution to Australian children's literature.

The Klaus Flugge Prize. This important new prize in the UK children’s book world was launched in July 2016. The Klaus Flugge Prize will be awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s book illustration. It honours legendary and revered publisher Klaus Flugge, a supremely influential figure in picturebooks: who in 2016 year celebrates the 40th anniversary of his publishing house Andersen Press. The prize will be the only one to specifically recognise a published picturebook by a debut illustrator.

Reading is Fundamental

To read an interview with Klaus Flugge see Chapter 13 The Legendary Klaus Flugge: Controversial Picturebooks And Their Place In Contemporary Society Klaus Flugge in conversation with Janet Evans in Evans,J. (ed) ( 2015) Challenging and Controversial Picturebooks: Creative and Critical Responses to Visual Texts London: Routledge